Blind contour

In class today we learned to draw using the blind contour method, wherein we drew objects without looking at our paper. This method was more difficult and at the same time easier than drawing the chair. I think drawing my hand was easier than drawing the chair since I didn’t have to change anything  after I finished, which was a relief. The hand was also more difficult for me to draw because I kept rushing when I was drawing. I think that not being able to see my drawing caused a sense of panic in me while I was drawing which led me to draw too fast.

Picture0923132020_1 (2)

For our first blind contour experience we drew  our hands with our dominate hand and then with our non-dominate hand (sorry for the smallness of this picture, my camera phone is not that great!). I was surprised when I found out from looking at my drawing that I paid more attention to detail when I drew with my non-dominate hand.  Also, when I was drawing I felt like I was drawing an accurate hand and this was certainly not the case!

Picture0923132144_1

For our next blind contour project we drew the random assortment of objects that are pictured in the first picture above. For the first drawing I used a pencil, and for the others I used a sharpie. Drawing with the sharpie was easier since I could feel what I was drawing whereas with the pencil I felt unsure of what I was drawing. The flowers in this assortment were my favorite thing to draw. I think I enjoyed drawing the flowers since I felt that I was actually drawing flowers, whereas with the other objects I found that I was confused on how to draw all the different sides of the object without losing my place on the paper.  When I started drawing from the inside of the objects instead of an outline I noticed objects that I didn’t even when I did the outline. I think using the blind contour has taught me to really pay attention to what I see and to actually feel  what I’m drawing. I think that this blind contour exercise connects to visual thinking since this method teaches that not thinking can be an art form.

Leave a Reply

