The Chair Struggle

IMG_3405IMG_3411IMG_3414IMG_3415IMG_3417

When I learned that drawing a chair with charcoal was my first project, I thought to myself: Oh this should be simple, it’s just a chair. Well, I have never been more wrong! The first picture above on the left was my first try. When I looked at the chair I knew that the chair’s seat and proportions were inaccurate, but I didn’t understand how to fix this problem. Then my professor Ruby suggested that I move the seat, and she showed me that the shape of the chair was a diamond. I think the reason I had such a hard time fixing the chair was due to the way I was viewing the chair. I was projecting what I thought the chair should look like onto my drawing instead of what I actually saw, which was a diamond shaped seat and not a square. This realization of the seat’s shape was an aha! moment that changed the way I drew the chair. I started drawing exactly what I saw instead of what I knew.  I also started to understand how to measure the angles and proportions of my chair. The second, third, and fourth photographs show my struggle of trying to get my angles and proportions accurate. The bottom part of the chair and the angle for the top of the back legs were the hardest parts for me to draw.  Another difficulty that I experienced in drawing this chair was using charcoal. I smudged charcoal so many times to redo the angles that it made the new lines hard to see!

The last photograph above is my final work. I felt a little sad when I looked at my other classmates’ artwork during our chair critique. I thought my drawing looked terrible compared to everyone else’s drawing. There was so much charcoal smudge on mine and the very back leg looked very wrong to me. If I could work on my drawing again I would probably change the back leg’s angle, and make the top bar of the chair bigger. The chair critique was incredible helpful for me, since I realized that I wasn’t the only one who felt insecure about their painting. Also, I was very shocked when some of my classmates and my professor complimented my artwork. I think the critique was a valuable experience for me since it gave me more confidence about my chair drawing. After the critique, I felt extremely proud of my chair, which was definitely not the case beforehand. I think the value of my particular drawing was that I was able to put a 3-D object on paper that looked realistic. I think the value of drawing in general is to express of your own style. I enjoyed looking at my classmates’ different drawing styles of the chair. I think my visual thinking has expanded since I now understand I have to draw what I see, instead of  projecting what I think something should be.

One thought on “The Chair Struggle

  1. I love seeing these five stages of your work side by side. It looks as thought the history and progression of the work show ever increasing accuracy alongside ever increasing confidence in your lines. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

